Swedes

I love the music of the seventies, but until my recent trip, I had never really listened to the 70s station on XM radio. I was surprised to hear Casey Kasem (who is recently deceased) hosting the weekly top 40. I was driving with my dad listening to 1976 in real time and Elvis was still alive. Very odd. My dad, however, was beaming. In fact, the entire trip was suffused with the music of my childhood. My parents had ABBA on steady, constant rotation, which is ok, because ABBA is pretty great. It got me thinking about dialects and accents and how much the Swedish voice lends itself to beautiful music, its lilting, sweet intonations adding a unique quality to the songs.

Today’s song is from Swedish alt-folk group, First Aid Kit.  I am pretty taken with their sound, it makes me happy just to hear it. And today’s song is about just that: finding contentment in the moment.

First Aid Kit “My Silver Lining”

Leave a Reply

