Lauryn

I hadn’t listened to the Fugees in a REALLY long time before this weekend, but on some whim, Chris and I were listening to it and remembering how great they were together. It sent me down the rabbit hole of (re)discovery however and I spent a good deal of time listening to The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill.  With which, for a good part of 1998 and 1999 I was OBSESSED. That album is filled with amazing, spiritual, heartfelt songs that I had hoped were the beginnings of a prolific solo career. Lauryn Hill’s voice is so rich. I really love it.  Don’t miss any of it, but there are two hidden or bonus tracks at the end that are exquisite, a cover of  “Can’t Take My Eyes off of You” and “Tell Him.”

So for today, on my 99th post, I thought I’d post the first song that introduced me to Lauryn Hill, “Killing Me Softly” from her time with the Fugees. I love this song; the Roberta Flack (which I always thought was the original but actually Lori Liberman recorded it first) version is great too.  Don McLean’s concert was said to the be the inspiration for this song. I kind of love that. He of course, sings about other artists all the time too: In” American Pie,” and then about Van Gogh in “Vincent”.

Happy Monday!

One thought on “Lauryn

  1. Pingback: Life’s Playlist…. Killing Me Softly by Roberta Flack | Notes from a Southern Kitchen

Leave a Reply

