Last Friday of Summer

I can’t deny it; I am in a really great mood today. Some days are just that way. Fridays usually facilitate that feeling, but this Friday in particular is quite nice. I am finally excited for the girls to go back to school, and not because they were fractious and fighting, but because going back to school and seeing old friends is really fun. I am enjoying seeing them reconnect with their pals.

I saw an owl on my run early this morning. It was not quite light yet and he was perched on a streetlight watching me and I in turn watched him as I ran by.  I love my early runs. Seeing the sun rise is one of the greatest things because common as it is–happens every day–it is never mundane. It is always pretty spectacular.  I’ve seen turtles, baby foxes, rabbits, (jack-rabbits when I was in Santa Fe) and countless birds and provided that the wildlife is smaller than I am, it is really exciting to behold.

All of this goodness is bolstered by the fact that yesterday I realized that on my Wednesday trip to the bank, I was shorted a decent amount of money. I was depositing money and withdrawing as well and I was chatting with the teller and trying to ensure suckers for the girls and I didn’t count to make sure that she was accurate. I realized the mistake yesterday and dreaded the very awkward bank trip where I would have to say, I think you owe me money from yesterday. Imagine my surprise when she not only knew exactly what had happened, but was thrilled to see me to pay me back, claiming, “I’ve been trying to get ahold of you!” Why am I telling you this? I don’t know. Except to say that sometimes the stars align and you have a really great day. There are also days that completely suck through and through but I am staying positive today

This song is a happy song. Tegan and Sara. I posted a cover that they did of the Rolling Stones’ “A Fool to Cry”  a couple of months ago, but I haven’t posted any of their songs yet. Last night I found a super recent video of them performing this song with Taylor Swift that was actually really cute.

Hope your Friday is full of serendipity!

Tegan and Sara “Closer”

 

 

Leave a Reply

