Hearts and Bones

Today I set out for my very favorite place, Santa Fe, and I am hopeful that my long weekend away will leave me refreshed and renewed. There is something magical about the crisp, clean, high desert air there and I’ve been away too long. Packing for this trip, I couldn’t help but think of one of my very favorite Paul Simon songs, “Hearts and Bones.”  It is such an amazing song with delicate percussion and really masterful but understated guitar. It begins in the Sangre De Cristo Mountains of Santa Fe, which I will be getting magnificent views of very shortly (I really can’t wait), but mostly it is a song about relationships.

It is heartbreaking, it is really gorgeous and I think it is Paul Simon at his best. This song was written about his relationship with Carrie Fisher. I chose a live version which has “Mystery Train” added at the end, at about 5:50. Skip it if you must, but I suggest you don’t.

Leave a Reply

