Covered

I love the marriage of two seemingly incongruent things. When an artist covers another’s work there is the potential for something really different and pretty exciting. I am not gonna lie, finding this song made my weekend. I love  Alt J. and hearing Ellie Goulding, whom I love as well, cover their music was unexpected, and really great. Where Alt. J is interesting, heady and kind of weird, Ellie Goulding puts a sultry spin on the song that I would have never imagined.

I first heard Ellie Goulding a little over two years ago on Saturday Night Live. I bought her album the next day. At the time she was gearing up to perform at Prince William and Catherine Middleton’s wedding reception.  (Pretty fun gig I’ll bet) I would’ve loved to have seen what she performed for England’s poshest set. That wedding was pretty epic. I woke my then third grader at 4:45 am to a full breakfast of waffles, fruit and eggs to sit with me and watch the carriage ride and the ceremony. But I digress…

Today’s pick: Ellie Goulding covering Alt J’s “Tessellate”

might have to do covers all week.

3 thoughts on “Covered

Leave a Reply

