Top 5

When I proclaim earnestly that “this song is in my top 5″ my friends chuckle and no longer believe me, but I swear that while I can’t qualify a particular Simon and Garfunkel song as top 5 (because I could never choose just one) I will say that Simon and Garfunkel are definitely in my top 5 groups of all time. Seriously.  I was thinking about it being the Fourth of July and was going to post “America” but got lost in the rabbit hole of the internet watching them in both their heyday in the 60s and then in their immaculate performance in 1981 at Central Park. Their harmonies are ridiculous. They’ve had a tempestuous relationship though the years and Paul Simon has an impressive solo catalogue, but I wish they’d come together once again.

Today’s pick is “The Boxer” from that Central Park concert and it includes an extra verse that I quite like.

Happy Fourth of July!

Leave a Reply

