Nothing New Under the Sun

My six year old made the astute observation today that most songs are about breakups or makeups or some variant of being in love, wishing for love, unrequited love, etc. This is not news of course, but she was realizing this for the first time and I was agreeing with her and thinking that I needed to bust out some Patsy Cline for her. I didn’t have that handy on my phone, but I do have a tagged Shazam of a She and Him song that I really love which is very reminiscent of Patsy Cline or Loretta Lynn.

Zooey Deschanel used to be married to one of my favorites, Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie and I was super sad that they divorced, as I thought they would make really interesting children; they are both wildly talented. This song is from She and Him Volume 2 and is really lovely. Kind of a rainy day song.

“Thieves”

Leave a Reply

