“Let fall the flowers from your hair…”

I make no secret of how much I love Ray LaMontagne. Shortly after its release, I bought Trouble for my parents and was bewildered that they did not agree that Ray hung the moon and stars. They thought it was weird. Our relationship has never been quite the same. OK, not really, but I was genuinely surprised and disappointed that they didn’t get him. I have a particularly strong connection to Til The Sun Turns Black and (I’d say it’s a top fiver but you are going to stop believing me when I say that) I always feel creatively inspired when I hear the album. This was released a few months after we moved back to the Continental US from Hawaii and a few months before I had my second child. We moved from perpetual sunshine to Milwaukee where the sun goes away from November to May. Listening to uplifting music would’ve been incongruent with where we were, and so this elegiac album was perfect. The pedal steel guitar in this, my favorite track, is Hawaiian in its essence. Love it!

“Empty”

Leave a Reply

