Fascinating Creatures

My daughter is almost 11. I’ve never written that before. I haven’t even thought it; I am still so fully a mom of a 10 year old, that 11 is revealing itself to me rather abruptly. 11 seems So. Much. Older.  It is new territory for me and I am learning how to open my eyes to what a fascinating creature she is. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always been amazed by her, but when you get to this age, you start to see glimpses of the person she is becoming.  I am loving it. Her dad is teaching her to play guitar and I am very interested to see the types of songs she is wishing to learn to play. Lately however, she is obsessed with creating songs on Garage Band. We have all sorts of electronica/dub hip hop mixes that she has created on the computer and it has been a real joy to watch her excitement.

I realized that there is so much she needs to hear. I need to dust off my Portishead, Moby, and Radiohead. Todays selection is Radiohead Lotus Flower and Thom Yorke personifies passion. I mean, every fiber of his being is feeling it.  With 22 million views clearly other people want to feel it too.  ~Maggie

 

Leave a Reply

