Perfectly Mismatched

J Crew has been mixing colors and patterns in a way that confounds me. I look at the way they style their models in their catalogues and I think it is borderline absurd. Somehow it works anyway. Finding two disparate things and making them gel together is really admirable to me.

When I first heard Vampire Weekend I fell in love right away. It is preppy, bratty, collegiate angst and it is kind of charming. I will never be one who summers in the Hamptons, but I’m not going to begrudge those who do. Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa stopped me in my tracks because it is so reminiscent of Paul Simon’s Graceland, and yet it is its own unique flavor. A Kwassa is an African dance where the hips move and the hands follow the hips. Juxtaposing the Kwassa rhythm with the stilted sound of Vampire Weekend is actually really great. Perfect on a peppy spring day.    ~Maggie

Leave a Reply

